The Grapes of Wrath

The journey to read 100 classics continues with the completion of The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.

Basic summary includes a novel about a family in Oklahoma, the Joads in the 1930s. The mere 619 pages take you through the trials and tribulations of the family.

This definitely had more substance than the previous Steinbeck classic I read, Of Mice and Men. But it seemed like every chapter was a new episode in the life of the Joads and just when you think it’s all going to climax, ‘POOF’ the moment is gone.

On a good note, John Steinbeck does know how to develop characters in a special way. It always felt like every characteristic was intrinsic.

I’m not bashing the novel. I thought it was well written and engaging; just not what I thought it was going to be. Maybe I’m underestimating my needs as a reader; I’d like to think that the many years of senseless, tantalizing entertainment of American Media has not tarnished my patience and consideration for a timeless art, literature.

So onward to my next adventure, Moby Dick. And what no better time to start this novel than now as I head to Florida to enjoy the open waters of the gulf 🙂

Also, please suggest more classics as I’m getting closer to the end of the already suggested ones. You can find the full list of classics currently on the list below in my blog titled “The Thrilla of the Bibliophelia”

2 thoughts on “The Grapes of Wrath

  1. Wow Adam, your librarian aunt is very impressed! I have a list for you… Pilgrims Progress, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Oliver Twist, Anna Karenina, Huckleberry Finn, The Call of the Wild, The Lord of the Rings, Lord of the Flies, Last of the Mohicans, Robinson Crusoe, Gulliver’s Travels, David Copperfield, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, Scarlet Letter, White Fang, Black Beauty, The Count of Monte Crisco, I guess I could go on.. probably you have read some of these. One that is popular in the medical school library were I work now is The Plague.
    Happy reading!

  2. Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a comment